SWIFTS COMPETITION NEWSLETTER

Season 2021-22 Issue 24 24 April 2022







Badminton England Club of the Year 2017

Surrey Heath Sports Club of the Year 2016

If the training is easy the match will be hard, but if the training is hard the match will be easy.

SWIFTS JUNIOR BADMINTON CLUB www.swiftsjbc.org.uk

Match Secretary

Cliff Buffham 17 Green Hill Road Camberley GU15 1PF

Phone: 01276 25078

E-mail: cliff_buffham@ntlworld.com

League standings

This is not altogether easy to report as not all the results are in yet. However, I am pretty sure that the following ACDBL divisions were won by Swifts teams this season, with others remaining a possibility. The ones I am sure of are the U10s, the U14 mixed and the U16 boys' divisions.

County representation

A considerable amount of end-of-season county badminton has nbeen played recently.

At the end of April it was Shires League finals day, held in Warwick, for the U19s, and Surrey clinched the title with Lila Dundas, Hayden Mitchell and honorary life member, Smrithi Shirol, all in the team.

Ruby Clark and Holly Ranson were both in the Berkshire team that also qualified for the finals.

Abigail Barnfield and Sarah Devapragasam were both members of the Surrey U14 team that participated in (and won) the octagonal county invitational event in York the weekend before last.

Local tournament results

A considerable number of Swifts members took part in the first day of competition in the annual Jubilee Tournament on Saturday, with considerable success. The sections this weekend were for U10s, U14s and U21s

The results I have been made aware of are as follows:

Reuben Gibson & Sylvie Stewart won the U10 mixed event.

Megan Johnson and Sylvie Stewart won the U10 girls' event. The runners-up were Bhavya Sharma & Lorelei Stephens.

In the U14s Sarah Devapragasam & Udita Sharma won the girls' event, with Jessica Pearson and Evie Stewart finishing as runners-up.

The U14 girls plate winners (3rd place) were Abigail Barnfield & Temisha Veeramootoo.

The U21 boys' event was won by Matthew Barnfield and Sebastian Grove.

Pictures from the weekend









Clockwise from top left:

Abigail Barnfield & Sarah Devapragasam

Reuben Gibson and Sylvie Stewart

Evie Stewart, Jessica Pearson, Udita Sharma & Temisha Veeramootoo

Lorelei Stephens, Sylvie Stewart, Megan Johnson & Bhavya Sharma

Matthew Barnfield & Sebastian Grove

